When Warhammer Quest: Silver Tower came out last year, I was excited. A ton of bad guys, rules for all the Tzeentch daemons, and something I could play with one other friend and have a fun time over some beers. The game is fun and a friend and I are still working on a trip through the tower. Meanwhile, Shadows over Hammerhal comes out. 

SoH is a campaign based game, came with a swath of new minis and offers some expanded rules for even further expanding your field of baddies. It also came with a host of new tiles. The only thing missing is rules for all the adversaries I’d want to put in a campaign, and outdoor game tiles. Originally I was going to download some fantastic tiles made by fans on the web, print and laminate them. But I thought, why not see if i can make them from supplies i have lying around.

I made my first 10 and have plans for about 15 more, offering a wide variety of environments in forests and swamps to play in.

What comes next is of course me home brewing rules for my favorite #AoS28 units. Pestigors, centigors, plague marauders, warriors, nurglings, even plague drones. I’m planning on seeing what else folks on the web have already done, sharing my ideas, and putting a campaign packet together. It will tell the story of a group of adventurers tasked with tracking down an arcanite chieftain, my first AoS28 conversion Brayton Witchblood. 

Initially, the adventurers start with only a vague idea of what they are looking for. They know who and they know a direction, so they just start trying to question every sentient being they can find, fighting their way through the children of the forest, my warband of Nurgle Beastmen. The narrative expounds on the setting and introduces the children to the player.

Along the way, they’ll also fight some Bloodbound recently in the region solely to hunt the strange beasts of the forest, and finally find their way to the arcanites and track down the sorcerer, preventing a cataclysmic incursion into Ghyran.

The project has really become the focus of my AoS28 efforts of late, because so much of the fun for me has been conceptual, and in a literal sense I’m writing a story in pieces that can be experienced in many ways, it’s pretty fun.

2 thoughts on “Warhammer Quest meets #AoS28

  1. The tiles are awesome and it’s great to see the combination of GW expanding it’s mini games (and ways to play) with hobbyists like you creating cool additions

    Like

    1. Thanks, yeah I am confident GW will be releasing future campaigns, Hammerhal is such a cool set (and the rules in the box include rules for a bunch of sets that aren’t in the box) but the single campaign will definitely leave people wanting more

      Like

Leave a comment